Reviews

Review: This Red Earth, Kim Kelly

This Red EarthThis Red Earth by Kim Kelly
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I don’t usually choose historical fiction or romances, but anxious to read a local author and interested about my new home, I gave it a go.

Despite my naïvete of the genre, I was enchanted by the descriptions of the landscape and society of wartime New South Wales. Kim Kelly paints a vivid picture, with details so alive that, even though I’m new to this part of the world, I felt as though I’ve lived here all my life.

Within the first few pages I fell in love with Bernie. I felt her struggle to have a life that mattered and shared it with her. Even as connected as I felt, that came second to the descriptions of the setting. I was thrown into that time completely.

If I were going to cross into the uncharted territory of historical romances, This Red Earth was the book to bridge the distances.

Get your copy of This Red Earth is available at A Reader’s Heaven. And watch for Kim Kelly’s upcoming novel, The Blue Mile, available this May. Watch A Reader’s Heaven’s Facebook page and this blog for more details.

-Jo

View all my reviews

Talk about it

