Books

2016 Reading Challenge – Week 4

Welcome to Week 4 of our of 2016 Reading Challenge. This week, we are faced with reading a book about an immigrant or refugee to Australia (or the appropriate country in which you live!)

I had been eyeing off “The Happiest Refugee” by Anh Do all week and then, as these things tend to happen, someone came into the store and bought it. As you could imagine, I was a little disappointed by that – it doesn’t come into the shop very often so I thought I would finally have my chance. But, alas, it wasn’t to be!

Not to be deterred, I checked out our Australian Biography section and discovered a few titles that would satisfy this week’s requirement but none as much as this book:

 

Walking Free by Munjed Al Muderis

 

walking-free

 

Why did I choose this one, in particular? The little blurb on the front cover, that’s what:

The extraordinary true story of a young man who fled war-torn Iraq, came to Australia as a refugee by boat, spent months in a detention centre and went on to become a pioneering surgeon.

Sounds pretty good, am I right? I will let you know next week!

In the meantime, don’t forget to share what you are reading this week – either here in the comments or on our Facebook page. We would love to hear from you.

 

*****

2093114
Last week, the challenge was to read a book about a road trip. I read Road to Paradise by Paullina Simons. You can find my review here.

Talk about it

