Books / Reading Challenge / Reviews

2016 Reading Challenge – Week 5

Welcome to week 5 of our 2016 Reading Challenge. I can hardly believe one month has just about gone already. Time seems to slip by ever so quickly. By the time we finish our books this week, it will already be February!

While on the subject of this week’s book – the challenge this time is to read a book about women in war. There are no restrictions – it could be fiction, including military sci-fi, historical fiction, biographies or autobiographies…the list of possibilities is long.

So, my choice for this week is a book that I really had to struggle to find. I spent a few days trying to find something I really wanted to read but I just couldn’t decide – until yesterday when this book came into the store. I think I was destined to read this book.

 

Anne Frank Remembered by Miep Gies

cvr9781471109492_9781471109492_hr

For the millions moved by ‘Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl’, here is Miep Gies’s own astonishing story. For more than two years, Miep and her husband helped hide the Franks from the Nazis. Like thousands of unsung heroes of the Holocaust, they risked their lives every day to bring food, news, and emotional support to its victims.

I remember reading Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl many years ago and being captivated by the story. But, as it has been a long time since high school, when this came across my desk, I just knew it fit perfectly for this week’s challenge.

 

*****

walking-free
Last week, the challenge was to read a book about an immigrant or refugee to Australia. You can find my review of this book here.

 

Talk about it

