Authors / Books / Reading Challenge / Reviews

2016 Reading Challenge – Week 9

Hello again, readers, and welcome to another installment in our 2016 Reading Challenge. This time around, we are going to be reading a book featuring an indigenous culture.

It took me a little while to find exactly what I was going to read. I looked at so many books featuring cultures from the Middle East and South America but none of them ended up capturing my attention. So I turned by eyes back towards home and stumbled across this book:

 

Follow the Rabbit Proof Fence by Doris Pilkington/Nugi Garimara

 

Follow_the_Rabbit-Proof_Fence_(book_cover)

 

“This extraordinary story of courage and faith is based on the actual experiences of three girls who fled from the repressive life of Moore River Native Settlement, following along the rabbit-proof fence back to their homelands.”

I am aware of the film based on this book (which I haven’t seen) and I am also aware of how highly this book is held by a lot of people in this country so I am looking forward to finding out what all the fuss was about!

 

*****

51MfMJN2QoL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_
Last week, the challenge was to read a book that was becoming a movie in 2016. You can find my review for this book here.

 

 

 

Talk about it

