Authors / Books / Reading Challenge / Reviews

2016 Reading Challenge – Week 11

Good morning, readers! Let me start by apologising for the lateness of this post – my family had to fly to Queensland last week for a funeral and we only arrived home this weekend. So I decided to leave this post until this morning before heading off to work.

So, let’s move on. The challenge this week is to read a book from the library – and I have a confession to make: before this week, I didn’t have a library card! There are no excuses for it except to say that when you own a bookstore, you rarely have the need to visit a library…

Anyway, I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised when I went an visited the Lithgow Library to (embarrassingly) ask for a library card. Quick, efficient and polite, the staff took care of it for me. In the meantime, I had the chance to browse the shelves and was immediately drawn to the YA section. The selection was impressive and, most importantly, up-to-date with a lot of the current bestsellers available. So my choice for this week was always going to come from there.

What aided me in my selection for this week was this series – I hadn’t had them come into the shop so I never really had the chance to read them so when I found all three in the one place, then I knew what I had to do!

 

Pandora English series by Tara Moss

 
9781405040143 12414417the-skeleton-key

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Pandora English is no ordinary small town orphan. When she’s invited to live with her mysterious great aunt Celia in New York City, she seizes the opportunity to escape her stifling hometown, break from her tragic past and make it as a writer. Things, however, are not what she is expecting. For starters, her great aunt’s gothic mansion is in a mist-wreathed Manhattan suburb that doesn’t appear on maps. And then there’s Celia herself a former designer to the stars of Hollywood’s Golden Age who is elegant, unnaturally young and always wearing a veil. Pandora lands a job at a fashion magazine and she finds that some things aren’t quite what they seem…”

 

This series promises to be a fun blend of the paranormal, ghosts, vampires, witches, mystery, fashion and adventure – all wrapped up in the Young Adult genre. I am absolutely sure this will be a great diversion for me and I am truly looking forward to it.

Remember, you can share with us what you are reading by leaving a comment on this blog or sharing with us on our Facebook page. We hope to hear from you!

 

*****

 

TwaniODell_BackRoads
Last week, the challenge was to read a book from the Oprah Book Club list. You can find my review here.

 

 

Talk about it

