Books / Reviews

REVIEW: The Kill Room – Jeffery Deaver

the-kill-room
From the back cover:

It was a “million-dollar bullet,” a sniper shot delivered from over a mile away. Its victim was no ordinary mark: he was a United States citizen, targeted by the United States government, and assassinated in the Bahamas.

Lincoln Rhyme is drafted to investigate. While his partner, Amelia Sachs, traces the victim’s steps in Manhattan, Rhyme leaves the city to pursue the sniper himself. As details of the case start to emerge, the pair discovers that not all is what it seems.

Sounds fantastic, doesn’t it? Sadly, I have to confess that I didn’t finish this book. In fact, I didn’t even get halfway. The reasons for this will follow but let me qualify this review with some background…

A few years back, I read The Bone Collector and loved it. The writing was tight, tense and gripping. The investigations were complex and the manner in which they solved them was clever.

So, after reading that, I wanted more; more of those detectives, more of their unconventional work practises and more of the intricate and complex plots.

However, the more I read, I found the plots was very similar to previous novels, the characters were very one-dimensional and the writing had become tired and had lost some of its shine.

So I stopped reading him.

Until now.

After running a poll on Facebook – in which we listed 5 titles to choose the next review from – this book was selected by our customers. And so I began reading it…

…but not for long. Sadly, in the few years since I read the last Lincoln Rhyme book, this book was more of the same. In fact, truth be told, it was worse. A few reasons:

  • Lincoln Rhyme has become tiresome. What had once made him unusual and interesting is now decidedly old. Analysing every gesture and word spoken is very irritating.
  • The dialogue has lost its crispness and attention to detail.The reader is introduced to more than a dozen characters in the first fifty pages.
  • The reader is introduced to more than a dozen characters in the first fifty pages.
  • The constant shifting of character perspectives every chapter makes for a stilted reading experience.

I really wanted to like this book – I truly did. I wanted him to prove me wrong. I wanted to get to the end and enjoy it…

However, in the immortal words of Mick Jagger “You can’t always get what you want…”

Talk about it

